Honorary NAMIC Merit Award


Ted Nickel

Wisconsin Governor Scott Walker appointed Ted Nickel as commissioner of insurance for the State of Wisconsin on January 3, 2011. The Office of the Commissioner of Insurance regulates the business of insurance in Wisconsin. The office has a staff of 153 and is responsible for examining industry financial solvency and market conduct, licensing agents, reviewing policy forms for compliance with state legislation, investigating consumer complaints and providing consumer information. In addition to its regulatory duties, the office administers the State Life Insurance Fund, the Local Government Property Insurance Fund, and the Injured Patients and Families Compensation Fund.

Nickel became president of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) in January 2017. Nickel is also a member of the International Association of Insurance Supervisors (IAIS). In August 2014, Nickel was appointed to the Federal Advisory Committee on Insurance, which serves as an advisory committee to the Federal Insurance Office (FIO).

Commissioner Nickel has been actively engaged in insurance industry affairs in Wisconsin. Prior to his appointment, Commissioner Nickel worked for almost 18 years as director of Governmental and Regulatory Affairs for Church Mutual Insurance Company in Merrill, Wisconsin. He has served on the board of directors of the Wisconsin Insurance Alliance, including having served as chair. Commissioner Nickel served on the board of directors of the Wisconsin Insurance Security Fund and the Oklahoma Property Casualty Insurance Guaranty Association, as well as having served as a member of the Legal and Government Affairs Committee of the Property Casualty Insurers Association of America.

Nickel earned his bachelor's degree in business administration with a concentration in finance from Valparaiso University.

Previous Award Recipients

Noelle Codispoti
Executive Director
Gamma Iota Sigma

Paul Kovacs
Executive Director
Institute for Catastrophic Loss Reduction

Scott Harrington Ph.D.
Alan B. Miller Professor and Chair of the Health Care Management Department
The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania

Steven Weisbart, Ph.D.
Senior Vice President & Chief Economist
Insurance Information Institute


Shannon Ollikainen
Executive Assistant